Planning Commission

The Northumberland County Planning Commission consists of ten members, two from each of the five election districts, serving a four year term and are appointed by the Northumberland County Board of Supervisors. The Board of Supervisors also appoints an ex-officio member to the Commission. The Commission reviews and makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors regarding Zoning Ordinance amendments, re-zoning requests, Chesapeake Bay Act Amendments and the County's five year Comprehensive Plan. The Commission also submits an End of the Year Report describing the year in review.

The Commission Meetings are held the Third Thursday in the Month in the New Courts Building, 220 Judicial Pl., Heathsville, VA 22473. Please check back often for information regarding the meetings. 

Commission Members

  • District 1

    Chris Cralle
    Edwin King

  • District 2

    Patrick O'Brien 
    Wellington Shirley, Jr.

  • District 3

    Vivian Diggs
    Garfield Parker

  • District 4

    Alfred Fisher, Jr. (Chairman)
    Albert J. Penley, Jr.

  • District 5

    Heidi Wilkins
    Charles Williams
    Ex-Officio Member Richard Haynie

Contacting the Commission

All correspondence to the Commission can be sent to:

Northumberland County Planning Commission
c/o Stuart McKenzie
P.O. Box 129
Heathsville, VA 22473

or email

Meeting Dates

The Commission meets the third Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the new courts facility located at 220 Judicial Pl. Heathsville, VA.

Please Note : The Planning Commission Meeting on Thursday, 2/15 will be held at the Old Courthouse, Board of Supervisors Meeting room. 

Minutes & Agendas


Agenda Minutes
January 19, 2017 January 19, 2017
February 16, 2017
No Meeting
March 16, 2017
No Meeting
April 20, 2017 April 20, 2017
May 18, 2017 May 18, 2017
June 15, 2017
No Meeting
July 20, 2017
No Meeting
August 17, 2017 August 18, 2017
September 21, 2017 September 21, 2017
October 19, 2017 October 19, 2017
November 16, 2017 November 16, 2017
December 21, 2017 No Meeting


Agenda Minutes
  • Northumberland County     •     P.O. Box 129     •     72 Monument Place     •     Heathsville, VA  22473