Board of Supervisors


    The Northumberland Board of Supervisors consists of 5 members, one from each of the five election districts, serving a four year term and are elected officials of the County.

    Board meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month beginning at 5:30 p.m. with Public Hearings starting at 7:00 p.m (unless otherwise noted) . All meetings are held in the New County Courthouse.


    Board Members

    Tax Rates

    • Real Estate
    • .61 cents per $100 of assessed valuation. (as of July 1, 2021)
    • Personal Property

    $3.60 at a 40% assessment ratio of NADA

    • Machinery & Tools
      $3.60 at a 25% assessment ratio of original cost, 1st year.
    • Machinery & Tools
      $3.60 at a 10% assessment ratio of original cost, 2nd year.
    • Merchants Capital
      $1.00 at a 50% assessment ratio of original cost.

    County Administration

    The County Administration Office works under the direction of the Board of Supervisors. He drafts, implements, and enforces policies adopted by the Board of Supervisors.
    In addition, the County Administration Office maintains the record of proceedings for the Board of Supervisors along with maintaining county operating and capital budgets.

    County Administrator
    E. Luttrell Tadlock
    P.O. Box 129
    Heathsville, Virginia 22473
    Phone: (804) 580-7666
    Fax: (804) 580-7053

    • Northumberland County     •     P.O. Box 129     •     72 Monument Place     •     Heathsville, VA  22473     •     (804) 580-7666